Reviews

What people are saying about Duncan House




Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

We traveled to Kelso for a funeral and chose Duncan House for it location. We were made very welcome on arrival, having a cup of tea and mince pie in the cosy sitting room. The rooms were very comfortable. Breakfast was all very freshly made and nicely presented. If we ever needed accommodation in Kelso again we would definitely return.

Reviewer:Mrs Carole S | Wed 21st Nov 2018 | 2 weeks ago


Breakfast by candleabra - Rating 5/5

Thanks so much for a lovely stay.I really appreciated the cosy sitting room with the fire welcoming the guests in.I love the antique furniture and decor. It is like coming home. Its the only place Ive had breakfast by candleabra!The staff are lovely and make you feel very welcome. Its very different to the clinically minimalist modernised majority of hotels. Love it xx

Reviewer:Sibbi L | Mon 19th Nov 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Totally welcoming - Rating 4/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Duncan House.Breakfast, taken in a lovely dining room overlooking the river, was excellent.Perfectly located for exploring the town, Duncan House is a jolly good place to stay.

Reviewer:Kathleen C | Mon 19th Nov 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Sporting ideal - Rating 5/5

Our party of 6 stayed at Duncan House whilst fishing on the Tweed. It could not have been a more perfect stay and Paul could not have been more helpful.He lent us a rod, brought lunch to the river each day and prepared the most impressive group dinner for us one evening all at a sensible price. We had a great time and the wine we took made up for the lack of fish !

Reviewer:Will S | Thu 15th Nov 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Sporting ideal - Rating 5/5

Our party of 6 stayed at Duncan House whilst fishing on the Tweed. It could not have been a more perfect stay and Paul could not have been more helpful.He lent us a rod, brought lunch to the river each day and prepared the most impressive group dinner for us one evening all at a sensible price. We had a great time and the wine we took made up for the lack of fish !

Reviewer:Will S | Thu 15th Nov 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Our stay at Duncan House - Rating 5/5

Very ComfortableExcellent breakfastTop quality hospitality all round!

Reviewer:Andrew R | Sun 11th Nov 2018 | 4 weeks ago


Excellent Accommodation- Rating 5/5

Exceptionally cleanroom. Bathroom is high quality and very comfortable bed. The views from the Tweed room are superb.

Reviewer:Stephen P | Thu 8th Nov 2018 | 1 month ago


Christine parkin - Rating 5/5

Enjoyable stay clean tidy excellent staff

Reviewer:Christine P | Wed 7th Nov 2018 | 1 month ago


Good value. - Rating 4/5

Stayed overnight on golf outing. Comfortable), warm and great value for money in centre of Kelso. Excellent fresh cooked breakfast. Wouldn't stay anywhere else down there.

Reviewer:Robert K | Wed 7th Nov 2018 | 1 month ago


Duncan House - Rating 5/5

Friendly, comfortable, clean, great breakfast, well located, great value for money.

Reviewer:mark e | Fri 2nd Nov 2018 | 1 month ago


wonderful Place - Rating 5/5

Thanks for the warm welcome!We had a pleasant stay at Duncon House. We loves the view over the river. Everything was lovely! The house, the room, the people, the surroundings.

Reviewer:Nicole S | Sun 21st Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Cycling stopover- Rating 5/5

Awesome rooms, facilities and a top breakfast with great choice of food

Reviewer:lee w | Fri 12th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Warm comfortable room, delicious breakfast.Will stay again.

Reviewer:gillian r | Wed 10th Oct 2018 | 2 months ago


Great Stay at Duncan House :-) - Rating 5/5

Wonderful couple of nights' stay at Duncan House.Beautiful room, fantastic breakfasts, congenial hosts.will definitely be staying again.

Reviewer:Karen W | Tue 25th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


What a find.... - Rating 5/5

The best bed & breakfast we have stayed in - we will definitely be back.thank you for looking after us so well.

Reviewer:elizabeth s | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Weekend stay - Rating 5/5

Very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Accommodation very clean and cosy. Breakfast was excellent.

Reviewer:Paul L | Mon 10th Sep 2018 | 3 months ago


D & G’s one night stay - Rating 4/5

We booked direct with Duncan House, received a clear text from Paul explaining the arrival details, pleasant hosts, spacious attic room with views along the River Tweed towards Floors Castle, good location, good breakfast, would use again.

Reviewer:Gary L | Thu 30th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Our recent stay - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed a beautiful room with stunning views of Floors Castle and the R. Tweed.The breakfast was excellent - served with a smile and a chat ! We will return.

Reviewer:eileen s | Sat 25th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


First rate establishment - Rating 5/5

Lovely large room with comfortable four poster bed and good bathroom.Excellent breakfasts.Very conveniently located.Friendly staff

Reviewer:RICHARD A | Thu 23rd Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Wedding Weekend- Rating 5/5

What a beautiful place to stay.We were attending a wedding in Kelso and chose Duncan House as it could accommodate our mixed group of 9 adults.The rooms are very well presented with a delightful mixture of Victorian furnishings and very modern bathrooms.The newly decorated annex rooms are decorated to the same high standard. The breakfast was something else, it is not often that you see Eggs Royale on a menu and it wasdelicious.There was a slight delay for some of us on the second morning but that was because the poached eggs weren't perfect and they refused to serve anything less!The staff were lovely and looked after us well,providing an iron and ironing board so we could get ready for the wedding we were attending.Nothing was too much trouble.We would without doubt recommend Duncan House and would stay there again.Thank you for the welcome and for making our weekend even better than expectations

Reviewer:R | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Great place for golfers, and a good deal - Rating 5/5

We wanted four rooms near the centre of Kelso, convenient to pubs and restaurants. Duncan House is beautifully furnished in a traditional style. Everyone was happy with their room and breakfast in the gorgeaous dining room was a treat.Would stay again. We phoned rather than booking online and got a great deal.

Reviewer:martin h | Sat 11th Aug 2018 | 4 months ago


Great stay - would recommend and would stay again - Rating 5/5

Had a great 2 night stay in a very comfortable room in Roxburgh Cottage.An excellent breakfast was served in Duncan House at a large dining room shared by other guests which was particularly pleasing and socialable.A further elegant lounge was available for use by the residents. Located on a quiet street with ample free parking and a short walk to the town square, made our stay both enjoyable and convenient as a base for touring the local area.

Reviewer:Amanda W | Sat 11th Aug 2018 | 4 months ago


High expectations - Rating 4/5

Duncan house is to be highly recommended with one proviso:make sure that you stay in the main house and not in the annexe. In the annexe you miss the stunning view over the river Tweed.

Reviewer:Petrus van den B | Mon 16th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


July18 - Rating 5/5

Excellent quality accommodation in the heart of Kelso with a distinct fishing heritage

Reviewer:Jim M | Fri 13th Jul 2018 | 5 months ago


Duncan House - Rating 5/5

This is easy , Wonderful !!! ,Thankyou

Reviewer:Steve M | Tue 10th Jul 2018 | 5 months ago


great place to stay - Rating 5/5

excellent stay, great host and super breakfast

Response

Hi ShaunThank you for your review it was great to meet you and I hope we see you back in Kelso in the future.Paul and the teamDuncan HouseKelso

Reviewer:shaun s | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 5 months ago


Superb! - Rating 5/5

I recently had the pleasure of staying at Duncan House as I was visiting the area to attend the funeral of a family friend.Being a single male, I inevitably left booking somewhere to stay to the very last minute. I jumped onto booking.com and found the most reasonable deal that I could.Well I must say that I was very pleasantly surprised. I had booked the tweed suite which is a family room and had bags of space. The views of the river Tweed from my bedroom window were superb. The room was very clean and well maintained too.The dining room was full of character and I had the most wonderful breakfast too. Next time I visit the area, I'll be staying at Duncan House.

Response

Hi KevinThank you for the review, we look forward to seeing you back at Duncan house in the future.regardsPaul

Reviewer:Kevin M | Fri 6th Jul 2018 | 5 months ago


Lovely experience- Rating 5/5

Fab location, lovely bedrooms, beautiful dining room for breakfast, wonderful food, excellent attention to detail, very accomodating and thoughtful host

Response

Hi CarolineThank you for your comments it was great to meet you and your family and we hope to see you again sometime in the future.Best WishesPaul

Reviewer:Caroline M | Tue 26th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Comfortable and convenient - Rating 5/5

A comfortable room with good facilities in a convenient location. The staff were welcoming and helpful.

Response

Thank you for your review it was a pleasure to meet you.I hope you can visit us again.regardsPaul

Reviewer:Noel D | Wed 20th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Golf boys - Rating 4/5

Good place to stay great breakfast will be back

Reviewer:David P | Fri 15th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Short break - Rating 4/5

Very nice we will be staying at duncan house again

Reviewer:Robert D | Thu 14th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Lovely place - Rating 5/5

Really good place to stay, rooms very well decorated and spotlessly clean. Breakfasts have plenty of choice and really good, would definitely stay here again. Thanks to Paul and his team for our lovely 2 night stay.

Response

Thank you Roger, I hope you come and see us again in the future.Best WishesPaul

Reviewer:roger i | Tue 5th Jun 2018 | 6 months ago


Overnight Stay - Rating 5/5

Dogs and I had a comfortable stay. It was my young collies first adventure at a B & B and he loved it .. Annie who has stayed before at nearly 14 found stairs difficult bet she managed !!!!!!!!!!/

Response

Hi ElizabethThanks for your comments, hope to see you again sometimePaulDuncan House

Reviewer:Elizabeth C | Sun 22nd Apr 2018 | 7 months ago


My short stay at Duncan House - Rating 5/5

I arrived late but everything was left out for me so i had no problems settling in, the facilities were spot on, breakfast amazing, the staff and the house itself made me feel so at home, if i could have stayed longer i would have done, i'm certainly going to stay again when i'm in the area and would recommend to all. 10/10

Reviewer:Philip W | Sun 18th Mar 2018 | 8 months ago


Duncan House - Rating 5/5

Another very enjoyable and comfortable stay thank you. It is very relaxed cosy and inviting. Very hospitable hosts, delicious breakfasts, and there are beautiful views from the house.

Reviewer:Mr. Chris S | Thu 15th Mar 2018 | 9 months ago


Excellent stay. - Rating 5/5

Me and my partner had a wonderful stay at Duncan house. We will be visiting again

Reviewer:Sam R | Mon 19th Feb 2018 | 9 months ago


Great stay at..... - Rating 5/5

Stayed at Duncan House with a colleague in a twin room. Under floor heating-heaven!Very tastefully decorated, great shower but, nice to be able to have a soak in the bath too. Beds comfortable. Host, Jeff was welcoming and friendly. Lots of choice at breakfast - delicious, set me up for the day...Highly recommend - I stayed on business but would be an ideal place to stay for pleasure also.

Reviewer:Carrie F | Fri 16th Feb 2018 | 9 months ago


Short break away - Rating 5/5

Stayed at Duncan House 12/13 Jan 2018. Had a very pleasant stay. Good location, clean comfy rooms, excellent breakfast. There was a very nice ambience feeling and the lit candelabra at the breakfast table was a lovely touch. Will return. William

Reviewer:william s | Sun 14th Jan 2018 | 11 months ago


Duncan House - Rating 4/5

A lovely quirky house - warm comfortable interesting welcoming. A must for those visiting the BordersGreat room great breakfast and very reasonably priced

Reviewer:John H | Sun 10th Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

Was made very welcome, beautiful upgraded room, full use of amenities, very relaxing environment, stunning river views... Breakfast was exceptional, especially candle lit, food was faultless beautifully cooked, and well presented .. Added bonus we got to meet the adorable Suzie the Labrador...thankyou for a wonderful stay look forward to revisiting soon possibly Feb 2018 ...

Reviewer:Karen C | Sat 2nd Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

Was made very welcome, beautiful upgraded room, full use of amenities, very relaxing environment, stunning river views... Breakfast was exceptional, especially candle lit, food was faultless beautifully cooked, and well presented .. Added bonus we got to meet the adorable Suzie the Labrador...thankyou for a wonderful stay look forward to revisiting soon possibly Feb 2018 ...

Reviewer:Karen C | Sat 2nd Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


Duncan House BB Kelso - Rating 5/5

Elegant and very comfortable accommodation,superb breakfast and looked after by a friendly helpful team

Reviewer:Andrew R | Sun 12th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Fishing Party - Rating 5/5

A very comfortable stay with a warm welcome and excellent breakfasts. The hospitality was 5* especially on our last evening.

Reviewer:Andrew R | Sun 12th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Duncan Jouse - Rating 5/5

Friendly.Good attention to detail. Annex very comfortable. Excellent breakfast. All in all very good value for money.

Reviewer:mark e | Wed 1st Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Duncan house - Rating 5/5

Loved my stay even it was only one night we were given the warmest of welcomes and loved the personal touch Weill return when in the area brilliant

Reviewer:Chris D | Sun 29th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Kelso jewel - Rating 4/5

A lovely place, which will be even better when building works are finished!! Excellent breakfast and very friendly welcome. We'll come again.

Reviewer:Nigel E | Sat 28th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Central, comfortable, clean and friendly- Rating 5/5

Central, Comfortable, Clean, modern, lovely touches being able to help yourself to fresh milk and biscuits for the tea making facilities, candles in the bathroom with lovely washing products too, friendly staff, breakfast was fantastic, the owners even sent a personal text prior to our arrival to confirm details. We would definatley return.

Reviewer:Miranda S | Wed 25th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Good quality, good value, good location - Rating 5/5

Stayed at Duncan House on a few occasions now. I have always found it to be an excellent experience. The rooms are of good quality, comfortable and interesting, especially if you get one with a river view. The welcome and breakfast are excellent and the location is great for an easy stroll into the town for food and drinks. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Paul C | Wed 18th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent, comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

Great comfortable room, excellent breakfast, fantastic staff

Reviewer:paul m | Sun 15th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely Kelso Hotel - Rating 5/5

We spent a couple of nights at Duncan House and had a top floor castle view room. Aside from the windows being a bit ratttly in the wind, the room was lovely and very clean. Well positioned just off the main square, what stood out most was the hospitality of the very friendly owners and the exceptional breakfasts. Highly recommended, we will certainly return.

Reviewer:Mike A | Thu 12th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Happy- Rating 4/5

Room was lovely very clean lovely town very friendly people will visit again

Reviewer:Mandy C | Mon 9th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Overnight for Kelso Races - Rating 5/5

We arrived as the darkness set andfollowedthe texted instructions.Our room was tidy with an amazing view.The House, itself,was splendidly decorated and very noticeably clean. Our communal breakfast was satisfactory and well catered. Further to previous comments, we found that not meeting the owners did not detract in any form to our welcoming visit.A lovely place to stay.

Reviewer:william h | Mon 9th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Make sure you stay here - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming and helpful in any way possible. Great breakfasts.The product more than matches the publicity. I was very at ease and at home with Jeff and Kate and their wonderful staff.Highly recommend. Would stay again.

Response

We thank you and all of our reviewers for your comments and suggestions. We listen to both praise and criticism with equal weight and take everything seriously.Jeff and Kate

Reviewer:Angela T | Wed 4th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent facility - Rating 5/5

Although we were only there for one night, we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The hosts were friendly and accommodating, the location was conveniently close to the town centre, the breakfast was well prepared and delicious...and best of all was the room, a spacious corner room overlooking the river with a fabulous view. Comfortable bed too. I highly recommend.

Reviewer:FredD | Sun 1st Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Very enjoyable- Rating 5/5

This was my 2nd stay and I enjoyed it even more. Real character about the place and a very nice, freshly cooked breakfast,including porridge.

Reviewer:PAUL VM | Thu 21st Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Welcome stay - Rating 4/5

Lovelymodern roomin the annex for our one night stay. Breakfast was excellent and the hosts were very friendly and helpful.

Reviewer:celia w | Sun 10th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable room and excellent breakfast

Reviewer:Mrs. Alison B | Wed 23rd Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable room and excellent breakfast

Reviewer:Mrs. Alison B | Wed 23rd Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


FLOORS CASTLE VISIT - Rating 4/5

I stayed at Duncan House with family for an overnight to visit Floors Castle and then Manderston. Lovely comfortable room and delicious breakfast. Made to feel valued and welcome.

Reviewer:Ros D | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


b&b - Rating 5/5

Fantastic welcome lovely location and property and very comfortable clean and well equipped.will definitely stay again when we are in the area.Many thanks for your hospitality.the three bikers

Reviewer:Nicholas B | Tue 18th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent central location - Rating 4/5

Excellent central location, delicious freshly prepared breakfast and friendly host and staff. Rooms just in need of a little TLC but definitely worth a visit.

Reviewer:Gillian B | Sat 15th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Comfortable, luxurious and affordable stay by the river - Rating 5/5

Lovely position next to river with access to walks by river towards Floors castle yet still in the centre of Kelso and all the great amenities.Great room- ensuite with large shower, great view west to castle and river through original style large window- in a large room.Relaxed and fresh colour co- ordinated interiors throughout with nice fishing rods and paintings adding to original fireplaces and good quality antique furniture.Owners and staff are very friendly, welcoming, knowledgable of the area, and I am looking forward to returning as I feel Ive found a gem in Duncan house. Can't praise enough!Looking forward to seeing the new house with rooms when its finished- great contrast with modern slick design- large windows, burnt larch loft etc. with continued quality and style and river views☺☺☺☺☺

Reviewer:Susan K | Fri 14th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Comfortable stay close to center of Kelso - Rating 5/5

A very welcoming beb and breakfast close to the center of Kelso. All the staff were most helpful with suggestions of The Cobbles Freehouse to eat in the evening, also very good. Bedrooms perfectly adequate but Barry in size. Worth paying a little more to get la larger room with views of The Tweed and Floors Castle. Breakfast freshly cooked, also of a high standard. Thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay while cycling From Newcastle to Edinburgh.

Reviewer:Martin R | Sun 9th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Very pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

A lovely historic building with lots of character and excellent views over the river.

Response

As I am stepping back a bit in my dotage it is good to hear that the staff are keeping up the grade.I try to keep on their backs but most of my effort is rebuilding the next door property.Thank youJeff

Reviewer:PAUL VM | Thu 6th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


The perfect little place to stay - Rating 5/5

What more could you ask for from a little b& b. So relaxed and personal service, after a 7 hour journey this was just what was needed to be welcomed by. The room was a shock, did not expect it to be so big and well equipped for the money. The bed was opulent and oh so comfortable. The view out of the window was fantastic and all was clean and tidy. Breakfast was wonderful and all cooked to order, what ever I wanted. I checked out refreshed, full up and very pleased with my stay.

Reviewer:Jamie L | Wed 28th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Home from home- Rating 5/5

Very welcoming, homely, cosy, just fantastic.Beautifully decorated and great lication and view. Wonderful breakfast and staff too. Thank you. Highly recommended!

Reviewer:Mirjam P | Tue 13th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Home from home - Rating 5/5

We experienced the stay as really welcoming,homely,cosy,friendly and in one word fantastic. Great view too and amazing decorated house. If we come back to Kelso we certainly come to yours!Thank you,David and Mirjam

Response

Thank you for your review - as a team we work very hard for our guests and appreciate your encouragement

Reviewer:Mirjam P | Sat 3rd Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely Old Georgian House - Rating 4/5

A beautiful old house, made very comfortable. Bit strange as no one to let us in and despite telephone call to owner no reply. Standing in the rain for 30 minutes thinking we would have to go elsewhere was unsettling. Luckily another couple came out of the door!The room was very small and the bathroom very tired. Only a small window to high for me to see out of. Very different expectations from those on website when booking.Breakfast was nice and the ladies cooking breakfast were absolute treasures. Our dog was made really welcome.i would stay again but request a room away from the cockerels that woke us at 4.30 am.!

Response

Apologies for the delay in getting in to the house all of our guests get a reminder email telling them how to gain access if we are out, in addition we send an SMS on the day reinforcing this. I am very sorry but we are not a hotel and just cannot be on duty 24/7. Our own website makes it very clear that we live nearby, not on the premises.We try to be honest about all of our rooms. Due to the nature of the house no two rooms are the same and they are priced according to size, facilities and views.The room that you occupied (Ettrick) is the smallest of our rooms and without any worthwhile views, as a consequence it is the cheapest of our rooms.Your comments about the en-suite have been noted. We renovated the house 15 years ago and have already started updating en-suites to current standards.Jeff

Reviewer:Joanne P | Sun 21st May 2017 | 1 year ago


11-12th may - Rating 3/5

Large sitting room and huge dining room but a rather small bedroom. Slightly off-putting to have to let ourselves in and was never introduced to our hosts until after breakfast. Jeff was obviously very busy with building work next door but a good service from the breakfast cook/waitress. Still good value but our room had no outlook except onto a wall and we were woken by the cockerels next door at 0430hrs:double glazing in the bedroom and extractor fan in bathroom would be a much-needed improvement

Response

Comments on the double glazing are noted. I beg to differ about the fan - this is built in to the shower and is part of the light fitting. We have gone to great expense to use fans that are quiet and unobtrusive.I am very sorry about the neighbours cockerels but they are beyond my control.

Reviewer:Alastair R | Sat 13th May 2017 | 1 year ago


outstanding - Rating 5/5

room was very very nice, breakfast was amazing. I will be back. Thank you

Reviewer:Jim S | Fri 28th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Duncan house - Rating 4/5

Great accomadation owners very nice people and would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Lee A | Thu 27th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Duncan house - Rating 3/5

Friendly B& B personal touch from owners. Comfy bed and facilities, lovely breakfast. Only 2 mins walk into town. Great price would stay again.

Reviewer:Carole S | Fri 7th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Three night stay - Rating 5/5

Another memorable visit,warmest welcome, comfortable room, real fires, excellent breakfast, river views - perfection.

Reviewer:Peter v | Fri 17th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Great Weekend - Rating 5/5

A most friendly and laid back establishment, we were kindly offered a drink when we arrived,and things just got better. The dog-friendly room was well appointed and very comfortable, the furnishing was impressive, and the breakfast was one of the best we've had, served by very friendly and competent staff. Looking forward to the next race meeting!

Reviewer:Mr. George B | Fri 20th Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

I have stayed at Duncan house on previous occasions and have always been amazed at the incredible hospitality afforded to me and my husband and this time was no different! Jeff was very caring since I was not too well at the time of my visit and went as far as offering me a 'hot toddy' to ease my cough. I haven't come across any hosts who are as caring and thoughtful! Our stay was really good, the room very cosy and warm and breakfastvery varied and good! I would recommend Duncan house to anyone situated within walking distance of the centre of Kelso. All in all a brilliant stay with friendly hosts and staff!

Reviewer:Jackie S | Thu 29th Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

I have stayed at Duncan house on previous occasions and have always been amazed at the incredible hospitality afforded to me and my husband and this time was no different! Jeff was very caring since I was not too well at the time of my visit and went as far as offering me a 'hot toddy' to ease my cough. I haven't come across any hosts who are as caring and thoughtful! Our stay was really good, the room very cosy and warm and breakfastvery varied and good! I would recommend Duncan house to anyone situated within walking distance of the centre of Kelso. All in all a brilliant stay with friendly hosts and staff!

Reviewer:Jackie S | Wed 28th Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


Comfortable and relaxed - Rating 5/5

Duncan house is a lovely warm quiet and comfortable house. We went the week before Christmas and the house was beaurifully decorated with a Christmas tree in the dining room where we had breakfast. The room on the top floor had super views across the river Twweed and Floors Castle and the en-suite was newly refurbished. Our hosts were lovely. We couldnt recommend it enough. We hope to return.

Reviewer:Gillian S | Mon 19th Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


Duncan House Kelso - Rating 5/5

Very enjoyable stay would recommend

Reviewer:Evelyn H | Mon 12th Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


Great B and B - Rating 5/5

Lovely place great location and we were made very welcome there.

Reviewer:Brian O | Tue 6th Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


Relaxed and easy - Rating 4/5

Duncan house was just what I needed as a base to visit a sick friend;easy, warm, friendly and relaxed.The walk by the river is beautiful and if Ii returnto the area I will come back to Duncan House.

Reviewer:william w | Fri 2nd Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


Duncan House - Rating 5/5

Stayed overnight on Thursday the 24th NovemberMet by friendly owner and her dog, given key to room and also front door keyRoom and bed very comfortable and cleanBreakfast staff really nice and food enjoyableWill definitely return to stay again

Reviewer:Carole G | Sun 27th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Venue for 3 night stay in the borders - Rating 5/5

Duncan House was good value and provided excellent facilities,service and breakfast.The owners and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We look forward to staying there again

Response

Thank you for booking to stay with us next yearJeff & Kate

Reviewer:Andrew R | Sun 13th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Great atmosphere, friendly host and guests - Rating 4/5

Wonderful place on the river Tweed, fine views and in the city centre. Well decorated rooms and an attractive livingroom available to all guests.

Reviewer:M V | Tue 25th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Home from Home - Rating 4/5

In an ideal location, close to the town centre, Floors Castle, The Border Union Show Ground and the Abbey.Comfortable and easy going, just treat the house as your own, staff only on site in the mornings, but owner lives next door and can be contacted by phone or text.Breakfast was delicious and the dining room was amazing!Nice to have your own front door key and come and go as you please.

Reviewer:Norah B | Tue 18th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


THE PERFECT BASE - Rating 5/5

IDEALLY SITUATED FOR TOURING OR FISHING IN THE BORDERSAND AT NIGHT EASY ACCESS TO ALL THE KELSO RESRAURANTS....GREAT BREAKFASTS AND FRIENDLY STAFF..AS GOOD AS IT GETSTHANKS.

Reviewer:Mr. PETER R | Mon 17th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely bed and breakfast - Rating 5/5

Great place to stay, friendly and welcoming.Breakfast is excellent

Reviewer:Peter G | Sun 16th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Kelso - Rating 5/5

Warm and friendly greeting, immaculate and comfortable room, beautiful breakfast.

Reviewer:Mark W | Tue 11th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Birthday celebrations - Rating 5/5

Great stay yet again. Highly recommend it. Stayed in the trivot room with friends in the tweed room.

Reviewer:Ian A | Mon 10th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Friendly staff and nice location.

Reviewer:Anthony E | Sat 8th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Duncan House & Kelso Races - Rating 5/5

This was our second stay as a group for this particular weekend & once again we were not disappointed by the charm of Duncan House.We were made most welcome whilst being given the freedom of this beautiful guest house

Reviewer:Tom S | Tue 4th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


lovely stay - Rating 5/5

lovely staff, beautiful breakfast. Loved the privacy of no owner on site and the views rom the window and river walk

Reviewer:Theresa M R B | Sun 2nd Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


3rd visit and as lovely as the previous 2! - Rating 5/5

We love staying at Duncan House. Since our first visit, we've always had the Whiteadder room. Top floor, lots of character and amazing views of Floors Castle in the distance.The breakfast served was delicious and you didn't go away hungry.Jeff is an extremely warm and welcoming host and we look forward to our next stay at Duncan House.

Reviewer:Mrs. Melanie K | Sun 2nd Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Honeymoon idyll - Rating 5/5

I had a dream of staying in a four poster bed in a stately home, Duncan house made that dream a reality. The wonderful elegant room with breathtaking views made that dream a reality. Thank you so much it was just wonderful.

Response

Well the upgrade to the four poster was part our contribution to your honeymoon - thank you for the cake!Jeff & Kate

Reviewer:Jennifer F | Sat 1st Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Highly recommend Duncan House. - Rating 5/5

I visit Kelso twice a year and always stay at Duncan House. The accomadation is excellent, clean, comfortable and the breakfast is amazing. Tremendous value.

Reviewer:Jim S | Sat 24th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


A SUPERB B & B - Rating 5/5

This really is "home from home". The bedrooms are comfortable and nicely furnished. The dining room for breakfast has a beautiful large dining table and all the breakfasts are individually cooked to order with selections to suit every taste and appetite! Whether you are fishing for salmon on the river Tweed, playing golf, hiking, cycling or attending a wedding, this is the place to stay. 2 minutes walk from the town centre square, where a good range of pubs and restaurants can be found for dinner. Jeff Slater and his staff give a first class service.

Reviewer:Angus R | Sat 24th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Stunning views - Rating 4/5

Lovely old building with stunning views of the river & hills. Ideally located for fishing, walking etc. Close to town, so ok easy to go out for something to eat or to the pub, which you need to as there isn't any facilities in the house. Tea/Coffee in room although there was no milk left in the fridge on the landing. Would have been quiet except for some noisy guests who, late at night, couldn't open the door for ages and then slammed it shut. Breakfast selection was very limitedwith hardly any options but ok if you wanted cereal or cooked and orange juice. Good WiFI but TV in room was tiny! Free on-site car park.

Reviewer:Gary S | Fri 23rd Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


History B & B near river Tweed und Floors Castle - Rating 5/5

A history building with view to the river Tweed and Floors Castle. Very good fresh cooked breakfast. Jeff and his staff are very friendly and helpful. Perfect tip for dinner. Thanks

Reviewer:Heike M | Thu 22nd Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


A little bit different - Rating 5/5

A lovely place to stay with some extra little touches. Would I stay again? .....yes

Reviewer:Mrs. kate h | Mon 12th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Short stay - Rating 4/5

Friendly and comfortable, and excellent breakfast. Convenient and picturesque location, will happily stay again.

Reviewer:Phil S | Mon 5th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

Had an extremely comfortable nights stay and fantastic breakfast in the morning, i come to Kelso once a year and will always book Duncan House as in my opinion it is the best value for money accomodation in Kelso and right on the river which makes it even better

Reviewer:Danny C | Fri 2nd Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Superb Breakfast - Rating 5/5

Worthwhile staying for the superb breakfast! Excellent,quality ingredients, beautifully served.Best we have ever had.Close to all amenities."Ettrick"room very small,(but priced accordingly and quiet). Other rooms looked spacious and well appointed.

Reviewer:Alan W | Wed 31st Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent accomodation - Rating 5/5

Very comfy 'home from home' accomodation, the staff were very friendly & the bed was comfy, the double shower was great and breakfast was excellent

Reviewer:Karen J | Tue 30th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Above expectations - Rating 5/5

We're just back from a wonderful stay at Duncan House. As we usually stay in hotels we were concerned that a B and B might not be to our taste. How wrong could we be! Everything about it is 5 star - from the superb antique furnishings to the excellent breakfast. We can't recommend it highly enough and would definitely return

Reviewer:Elizabeth C | Tue 30th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Holiday - Rating 5/5

The owner is really hospitable. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful.The room is comfortable and clean.

Reviewer:Gabriele B | Mon 29th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


History, good food, comfortable bed - Rating 5/5

This B and B is lovely. It's in a cluster of historical buildings on a terrace overlooking the Tweed. I stayed for two days in Roxburgh Cottage that is round the corner from Duncan House but I was able to use the common facilities there if I'd wanted. Roxburgh Cottage accommodation does not have river views - if that's what you're looking for you need to book a room in Duncan House itself. Breakfast was served at Duncan House too - a beautifully furnished room with fine views of the river. Delicious food cooked to order. Roxburgh Cottage accommodation is about to refurbished but is spacious, clean and furnished to the same standard as the main house. I wish every B and B had a bed and a bathroom like that! It's easy walking distance to the town centre with many cafes and little shops. Jeff was a kind, thoughtful host and Susie the black lab is much mentioned in reviews for good reason! The relaxed country home feel of Duncan House is charming - will be recommending it for sure.

Reviewer:Mrs. Teresa M | Sat 27th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed at Duncan House for one night, lovely location, views amazing, peaceful and tranquil.The house was filled with lovely old furniture, bedroom had a four poster bed! Nice and clean and breakfast was excellent freshly cooked to order, with plentry of choice.

Reviewer:Richard B | Fri 26th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


superb - Rating 5/5

This is one of those once in a few years kind of places.Quirky, a gracious home, the way you might expect a country home should be. Really comfortable, fabulous views, and I really mean 'fabulous'. What else? All the details are there from some nice artwork on the walls to small stuff like bowls of sweets around the place. Breakfast was superb (smoked salmon witn scrambled eggs, kippers, porridge, full English etc). We loved it, really sorry to leave.Its worth mentioning thatthe owner doesn't live in the building. Initial entry is by keypad code sent to your mobile so get the number right when you book

Reviewer:Karl G | Thu 25th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Overnight stay to cover wedding event - Rating 4/5

Very intimate stay with a most charming couple now venturing on expansion plan within their premises and adjoining premises.

Reviewer:Colin M | Mon 22nd Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Would definitely recommend- Rating 5/5

Excellent B& B. Accommodation perfect with great views towards the River Tweed.Breakfast wonderful & the staff were most friendly & helpful.Although there is an on-site car park, it is small & untarmaced! but all in all this was an excellent choice.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew P | Mon 22nd Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Amazing - Rating 5/5

This place really has the wow factor and the Breakfast!!!! Easily the best...I can see why this place is award winning - simply put stay here! You will not regret it.The rooms - amazingThe Staff - amazingPrice - AmazingAbsolutely Everything - Amazing!

Reviewer:Christian T | Mon 22nd Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Duncan House/Roxburgh House. - Rating 4/5

Myself and my brother had the occasion to visit Kelso for our cousin's wedding and luckily booked Duncan House for an overnight stay, we actually stayed in the cottage next door named Roxburgh House and were delighted with the facilities and friendly service we experienced throughout our stay, our room was clean and warm and the breakfast was first class, overall well worth a visit and right next to the town centre and all amenities and also a splendid view up the river to Floors Castle right behind the house, if I'm ever in the area again i will certainly book up again in this delightful B& B as it's very good value for a very reasonable price.

Reviewer:Mr. Alisdair M | Sun 21st Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Relaxation- Rating 5/5

Great place to unwind very friendly staff . The breakfast was excellent. And it has beautiful views of the river . It's nice to get the personal touch . And really feel welcome .

Reviewer:Paul S | Sun 21st Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely stay here this weekend for a wedding. As they knew it was my birthday I even got a bottle of bubbly. Very friendly, breakfast was lush. We stayed in Whiteadder room & the bed was very comfy, with views across the river and a view of the castle. Would definitely stay again!

Reviewer:Megan S | Mon 15th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Great House - Rating 4/5

Everything was okThe house is really great and the view beautiful. Only the chickens beside the House are loud

Reviewer:Jana R | Sun 14th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


3 day break - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 3 nights whilst visiting relations & family party, the staff made us feel most welcome and the breakfasts were excellent with a good selection, although we thought a menu to show the choices would be a good idea.Our room at the top of the house was clean & comfortable with a good view of the Tweed, will visit again.

Reviewer:Andrew M | Fri 12th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Fantastic!!! - Rating 5/5

The house is absolutly beautiful. The details outside and in. Very welcoming. Quiet and the views are breath taking.Rooms are inkeeping with the rest of the house. Well equiped with a luxurious bathroom.Little touches and gestures make it all the mote perfect.Communial breakfast table where i was able to enjoy a hearty breakfast for the day while chatting to the other guests.Ample parking. Easy to find. Over all one of the best places ive stayed. Would recommend!!

Reviewer:Callum P | Wed 10th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Weekend break - Rating 4/5

DUNCAN HOUSE is conveniently situated just off the town square and close to Floors Castle and Kelso Abbey. We were made to feel welcome and at home by the owner and were shown to our room and given full instructions to treat the place as home and where to find everything should weneed it. Good freshly cooked breakfast to order with a good choice. Would stay here again if we are in Scotland borders.

Reviewer:Valerie H | Tue 9th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Two comfortable nights - Rating 4/5

Excellent stay.Great location, friendly staff, and a super breakfast.Just the job!

Reviewer:Robert C | Mon 8th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Superb B&B - Rating 5/5

Beautiful, comfortable house and setting. Breakfast was superb and provided by welcoming, friendly service. Will definitely visit again!

Reviewer:Gillian M | Sun 7th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely stay in Period House - Rating 4/5

Great accommodation in central location with parking. Easy walk to town. Wonderful views from Teviot room with 4 poster bed included.Attentive staff and great breakfast options.Owner mentioned refit due to bathroom which would be good although it all worked fine as is. Sash windows a little stiff/heavy and may be tricky for an elder/weaker guest to open.Would benefit from a cob-web clean around ceiling/lights although in general a clean and well maintained property.WOULD STAY AGAIN if in area

Reviewer:Mark H | Mon 1st Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


duncan house Kelso - Rating 5/5

Excellent had great facilities that made us feel right at home.Not being overpowered on arrival by owner was a bonus as you just want to get in to your room. In essence enjoyed the relaxed laid back manner very good.

Reviewer:Malcolm S | Sun 31st Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Georgian elegance- Rating 5/5

Duncan House is a gem set in a Borders jewel. Classy clean relaxed and fabulous service. Great breakfast. Traditional decor and a view of the Tweed. The girls were great and the other guests clearly came for a bit of sophistication too.

Reviewer:Simon C | Sun 31st Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


perfect B&B! - Rating 5/5

Comfortable, beautiful house and views. We hope to stay at Duncan House again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan M | Sun 24th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Duncan House - Rating 5/5

Acharming period house in a very convenient location. Overlooking the River Tweed .great rooms and superb breakfasts. .

Reviewer:Mike H | Wed 20th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Fishermans Rest - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our stay very much. Staff very efficient and friendly. Breakfasts were first class with so much choice and all freshly prepared. Nothing too much trouble from our host. Accommodation very comfortable but decor and furniture oldey woldey.

Reviewer:Roger W | Mon 18th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

Very impressive house. Good sized rooms with bath and shower. Breakfast in superb dining room on huge table. Very good arrangements for arriving and entering house which were sent by email a couple of days in advance. Splendid view of river Tweed from Tweed bedroom. You had a view over the wide river up to Floors Castle. Good breakfast with Scottish items featuring. Real milk for tea provided in a fridge on first floor landing.Highly recommended.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We hope to see you again.Jeff & Kate

Reviewer:Mr. ALLAN R | Sun 17th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


My stay at Duncan House, with my dog . - Rating 4/5

Annie my lurcher and I had a very comfortable stay and found the tea/coffee etcvery nice. The breakfast wasmost enjoyable and we had service with a smile . The onlydisappointment was the car parking . If you have a heavy bag and you have to park in the street it is quite a long walk . Everything else was just fine .

Reviewer:Elizabeth C | Thu 30th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Stay- Rating 5/5

Fantastic stay could not fault it and the best breakfast ever.

Reviewer:Mrs. KarenColeman| Tue 28th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Wonderful, found a place to come back to again and again - Rating 5/5

We stayed in the Teviot room and it was gorgeous.As a rare night away from our young kids at a child free wedding it was perfect for getting ready, feeling grown up and spoilt. We got a great night's sleep and were treated to a very tasty full breakfast the next morning. We'll be coming back!

Reviewer:Jessica C | Tue 28th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Classy - Rating 5/5

A classy house, made to feel very welcome, superb breakfast and very comfortable bed.Great location.

Reviewer:Diana B | Fri 17th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Pleasant Stay in Great Location - Rating 4/5

B& B in great location, 30 seconds from Kelso town square. Nice building with great view of river. Plenty of interesting things inside if you're interested in fishing too.Staff friendly. Large breakfast served in very nice dining room.Bedroom nice and bed comfortable. Note that no shaver socket was available in bedroom or shared bathroom.

Reviewer:Mr. Adam G | Fri 17th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Communication let down - Rating 2/5

Lovely property but was disappointed not to be greeted when we arrived.As we had pre booked my vegetarian breakfast I was looking forward to it only to find that the girls cooking knew nothing about our request. Consequently I was left with very little to eat & was extremely disappointed. We would have booked somewhere who was willing to cook a vegetarian breakfast had we known...

Response

This was a communication failure by the guest.The booking stated \'1x vegetarian breakfast if possible, thanks, Paul\'No mention was made in the booking of not eating eggs or beans. The house was fully stocked with fresh fruit, cereals fish etc non of which was apparently acceptable to the guest who demanded vegetarian sausage. This is only the second time in 14 years that we have had such a request. On the first occasion this was requested in advance and provided.To add insult to injury the female guest was extremely rude to my staff and upset them in front of the other house guests.I strongly suggest that Paul is more specific when he makes a booking to avoid these problems elsewhere.Jeff Slater

Reviewer:Paul B | Tue 14th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Duncan House - Rating 4/5

Excellent food, friendly service, an enjoyable stay in a beautiful area. Only slight problem was with car parking.

Reviewer:Carol R | Tue 14th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


disappointing - Rating 2/5

Very impersonal ckeckin;only a mail sent at the morning of the arrival and a telephone-number in the window, where we could reach someone who told us how to get the key out of the keysafe.Room very small with insufficient space for luggage, the same in the bathroom. Slightly blurry ceiling in the bathroom.

Reviewer:Mr. Gert B | Sun 12th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely,tranquil atmosphere - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed a wonderful stay in a beautiful location.The room was very clean and the breakfast superb.Even had an e-mail from Susie the labrador prior to our visit to welcome us,brilliant.To anyone wanting to stay in Kelso ,Duncan house is the place to go.Thank you all.

Reviewer:John G | Wed 8th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


3 day stay - Rating 5/5

i had a lovely stay with great breakfast.Room was lovely

Reviewer:Melvyn D | Mon 6th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Top class accommodation- Rating 5/5

I've travelled the world for the last 11 years and I can honestly say that Duncan House is one of the best bed and breakfasts I've experienced. The view from the Teviot Room was fantastic as were the facilities. The breakfasts were excellent with a wide variety of choice including items you would normally pay extra for in top hotels like eggs Benedict. Top class, very clean bed and breakfast and friendly staff.

Reviewer:Gary M | Mon 6th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Spectacular- Rating 5/5

Everything was amazing, and to to end our stay a spectacular breakfast if you stay here you will be spoilt nothing else will be good enough. Thank you Duncan house had a fabulous 45th birthday. ☆☆☆☆☆

Reviewer:Lorraine T | Tue 31st May 2016 | 2 years ago


Perfect Break - Rating 5/5

Duncan House has the perfect mix of relaxed, comfortable and homely luxury. The house is full of antique furniture but without being 'stuffy'. Really nice lounge to relax in and beautiful dining room. Our bedroom, with 4 poster, was fantastic. Very welcoming and would definitely recommend if escaping for a quiet break in the borders.

Reviewer:Jim M | Sat 28th May 2016 | 2 years ago


WHY? - Rating 5/5

A chance find but an excellent discovery. A really good room overlooking the Tweed. Very helpful and cheerful staff. Liked the communal eating. Gets people talking and you are well fed.Suggest you clean the lamp above the front door!DID I LEAVE A WHITE/YELLOW MEMORY STICK IN THE TEVIOT ROOM?

Reviewer:Robin Nelson 1 | Tue 24th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Overnight Stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay very relaxing will be staying again

Reviewer:Paul G | Fri 20th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Another relaxing break - Rating 5/5

It is now ten years since we first visited Duncan House. On that visit we were at the start of a three-week tour of Scotland. We have not managed to visit every year since then but we have returned several times and have never been disappointed. The house is a splendid Georgian structure on the bank of the Tweed, the staff smile are all very friendly and attentive and the breakfasts are great. We will be back again.

Reviewer:David A | Fri 20th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Friendly and comfortable. Great breakfast.- Rating 5/5

Warm friendly lovely decor. Generous provisions. Great shower. Excellent breakfast. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Alison S | Sat 14th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely stay in the Teviot Room - Rating 5/5

Couldn'tbe more pleased, comfy bed, luxurious bath, amazing views of the Tweed! Spotlessly clean, very welcoming hosts. Loved sitting round the 12 placed dining table with everyone and the breakfast's were great and good choice including smoked salmon and scrambled egg which I highly recommend! We will be back!!

Reviewer:Mrs. Jeanette G | Tue 3rd May 2016 | 2 years ago


\"Absolutely Fabulous\"! - Rating 5/5

Thank you Jeff, Kate, Rachel and, of course, Susie for making us so welcome in your lovely house.We enjoyed the "house party"atmosphere and particularly sitting round the very impressive dining table with our fellow guests and swapping stories with them, whilst eating the most delicious breakfast, having had difficult decisions as to what to choose from the extensive menu. We found our room (Yarrow) perfect and it was an added bonus to wake up to sunshine on our first morning although I suspect that even you, Jeff, can't control the weather! We are so glad we "found"Duncan House and look forward to our next stay....might have to make it in the winter to enjoy the open fires!Thank you again for a most enjoyable weekend.

Reviewer:Judith E | Mon 2nd May 2016 | 2 years ago


Will be back - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed my short stay. Great sleep. Geeat breakfast. Would recommend this B+B to a friend.

Reviewer:Patrick L | Sun 1st May 2016 | 2 years ago


A perfect getaway. - Rating 5/5

Lovely townhouse, overlooking the Tweed and Floors castle. Cosy room with great en-suite facility. Delicious full scottish breakfast and welcoming staff. A hiddem gem.

Reviewer:Kyshiea N | Thu 28th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Enjoyable stay- Rating 5/5

Would highly recommend great views looking onto Floors Castle. Room very clean and great shower.

Reviewer:Gary G | Wed 27th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Duncan House - Rating 5/5

Excellent, very welcoming and comfortable. Breakfast was very good, wide choice and served early.

Reviewer:Jane H | Mon 25th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Home from home - Rating 5/5

Stayed here as our midway point of The 4 Abbeys Cycle. We were made very welcome and the lovely welcoming fire on our arrival was what was needed for 4 cold tired cyclists. Our room (deluxe king size ) Teviot was beautiful with a magnificent view towards Floors castle over the river. Breakfast served in a stately dining room set us up for our second day's cycle . Will definately stay again.

Reviewer:Victoria R | Mon 18th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Duncan House, Kelso - Rating 4/5

I stayed one night at Duncan House and found it very homely and comfortable. Kate and Jeff were great hosts and hospitality second to none. Breakfast was superb and set me up for my journey home.

Reviewer:Mr. Harvey B | Mon 11th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Best B and B - Rating 5/5

Great place as a fishing base as good as it gets.Thanks

Reviewer:Mr. PETER R | Sun 3rd Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

Nice place to stay, friendly staff, lovely breakfast, good facilities, very dog friendly

Reviewer:GILLIAN B | Thu 31st Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Duncan House - Rating 5/5

Great location & stunning views. Made to feel very welcome and the breakfast deserves its legendary status.Would highly recommend and definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Nick C | Mon 21st Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Friendly - Rating 5/5

Duncan House is very clean and comfortable.The breakfast is fantastic and everyone is extremely pleasant and friendly.It's very popular with fishermen but don't be put off by this, the staff treat everyone with the same friendliness, efficiency and respect.The rooms are exactly as described, no hidden nasty surprises.

Reviewer:Alister D | Mon 21st Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Duncan House - Rating 5/5

Lovely central venue overlooking the river. Great public rooms (warm if its cold outside!)Comfortable and quiet bedrooms. Attentive host, excellent breakfasts. Duncan House has an emphasis on fishing which is part of Tweedside culture but this venue would get 5 stars whatever your motivation for staying there

Reviewer:Jim M | Sun 20th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Three day fishing break - Rating 5/5

Jeff and Kate could not be more welcoming. All staff cheerful and helpful. Delicious breakfast including porridge from local oats. Comfortable, spacious rooms with great river views. Very handy for Orvis with good range of flies and lures and early opening. Have already booked for next year. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Peter Vom E | Sat 19th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Ideal accomodation for our Tweed Fishing trip - Rating 5/5

Jeff and Kate made us very welcome .What a beautiful position with views over the Tweed. The rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast choice was varied, generousand delicious, setting us up for the day. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. Chris S | Sat 19th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent place to stay in Kelso - Rating 5/5

Comfortable, warm and friendly place to stay.Best breakfast in the Borders

Reviewer:Dave P | Thu 17th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Loved it. - Rating 5/5

I stay at Duncan house a couple of times a year for work and it is always a pleasure.lovely accommodation and breakfast is always amazing.

Reviewer:Jim S | Thu 17th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely weekend - Rating 5/5

Beautiful house and location, friendly staff and so nice to sit around the breakfast table and chat with other guests and the owner. Will definitely return.

Response

Sorry that the racing was abandoned but hope that you found enough to do.Jeff & Kate

Reviewer:Karl F | Mon 7th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely house - Rating 4/5

Delightful position, comfortable room and a 5 star breakfast

Response

Thank you for the compliment

Reviewer:Brian W | Sun 6th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


A very pleasant place to stay - Rating 5/5

I enjoyed my very brief over-night stay at Duncan House.It's ideally located for the centre of Kelso.To be greeted with, 'with you like a g & t or a cup of tea' can't be bettered in my opinion.Excellent breakfast, warm, clean and comfortable room with everything one could need provided.Recommended.

Response

So it\'s the cold weather hospitality that you enjoyed most!

Reviewer:Jack D | Mon 18th Jan 2016 | 2 years ago


A real find- Rating 5/5

An elegant, really comfortable and well equipped house.Delicious breakfast.Will definitely recommend it to friends and hope to return myself (in better weather)

Response

We look forward to seeing you again.Jeff & Kate

Reviewer:K | Mon 11th Jan 2016 | 2 years ago


Wee gem of a place- Rating 5/5

Lovely accommodation, very easy to find. Clean and comfortable with lovely staff. The breakfast is awesome! Would highly recommend this Wee gem of a place.

Reviewer:Tracey R | Tue 8th Dec 2015 | 3 years ago


A Guest House with Taste and A Great Welcome - Rating 5/5

Duncan House is advertised as a B& B but it is more like a private hotel. Beautifully furnished and wonderful hospitality. I believe the Michelin guide would say "worth a detour". I don't want to say more in case I can't get a room there next time I'm in Kelso. But highly recommended.

Reviewer:Michael H | Mon 7th Dec 2015 | 3 years ago


Wonderfully Relaxing - Rating 5/5

A wonderful place to stay, a super room with a very comfortable bed and lovely crisp linen. Superb bath and very nice overall furniture in a much larger than average room.Very classy drawing room and dining/breakfast room. A nice touch was fresh milk in a fridge for 'proper' morning drinks The owners were very helpful, particularly sending a text to advise on accese details.I had not really registered the price on booking and was very pleasantly surprised by how reasonable it was. I will definitely use Duncan House again and have already recommended it to friends.

Reviewer:Simon H | Sat 5th Dec 2015 | 3 years ago


One to return to - Rating 5/5

The weather was shocking so to arrive and find a real fire crackling away in a comfortable lounge was very welcome.The room was comfortable, the staff delightful, and the breakfast superb. What's not to like!

Reviewer:Roger F | Thu 3rd Dec 2015 | 3 years ago


Best B & B ever - Rating 5/5

excellent situation, open fire, fabulous breakfast, friendly welcoming folk, very good for dog walking, lots to do.

Reviewer:Leslie H | Tue 1st Dec 2015 | 3 years ago


Too short - Rating 5/5

A great place to spend the night comfy big bed and one of the best breakfasts ever with lovely staff We will return

Reviewer:David H | Sun 29th Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Very recommended - Rating 4/5

Good food, nice room and superb views. Very welcoming once you get past the keysafe which didnt seem to accept the code!

Reviewer:Ross B | Sat 21st Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


The best way to stay in Kelso - Rating 5/5

Stayed for week and enjoyed every minute the rooms are very comfortable an clean all have on suite very good . The breakfasts are one in a million every thing You can possibly need .The people round it all off to make it a very enjoyable stay THANK YOU EVRYONE.

Reviewer:Mr. Dale S | Thu 19th Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Looking forward to returning - Rating 5/5

An excellent B& B with friendly service and good facilities at a reasonable price

Reviewer:James V | Mon 16th Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


weekend break - Rating 4/5

enjoyed our weekend a lovely place to stay very friendly owners and staff and convenient for the town

Reviewer:Brenda L | Wed 11th Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Bravo to Duncan house- Rating 5/5

Was made at ease right from arriving , and the hosts could not do enough for you . Given lots of information regarding things to do and see . The establishment was very clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were fabulous . I would not hesitate to recommend this establishment to anyone . Very good ! 👍

Reviewer:Patrick M | Sun 8th Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely BandB - Rating 4/5

The bedroom was clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was tasty with lots of choice. Kelso is a pretty town with great walks nearby. No hesitation in recommending this bed and breakfast.

Reviewer:Elisabeth Q | Sun 1st Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Fabulous- Rating 5/5

Our group took all five rooms at this beautiful Georgian property for a two night stay & we all thought it was a marvellous place to stay. Very central to all of the amenities & close enough to walk to the racecourse. Tastefully decorated throughout, pristine bathrooms, a wonderful dining room & a sumptuous breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble to Jeff & his staff. We shall return

Response

Already booked you in for the race meeting next year.Jeff & Kate

Reviewer:Tom S | Tue 6th Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


Great Stay! - Rating 5/5

Thankyou very much Kate and Geoff for my stay. Cyclotouring, following the Tour of Britain. Perfect! Hot shower, clean room with good facilities,awesome breakfast with a very warm welcome ☺.

Reviewer:Mr. Dieter B | Thu 10th Sep 2015 | 3 years ago


Great location - Rating 5/5

Easy to find. Homely, relaxed atmosphere.Wonderful choice of breakfast, with a lovely lady to serve us.Duncan House was a great choice for our visit to Kelso. Would recommendit to anyone.

Reviewer:Malcolm P | Sat 5th Sep 2015 | 3 years ago


Bank holiday weekend stay - Rating 5/5

Ideal location. Rooms clean and owner and staff very friendly. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Brian B | Mon 31st Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely, welcoming stay - Rating 5/5

Second time staying here. A lovely, comfortable room with splendid views and delicious breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the house is delightful. Thank you.

Reviewer:Ms. Penny S | Fri 28th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


beautiful - Rating 4/5

Wonderful experience...

Response

Your children were great with Susie the labrador - thank you

Reviewer:Vincenzo M | Tue 25th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Fabulous stay - Rating 5/5

My sister and I had the twin room and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Geoff the owner couldn't have done anymore for us, and his staff were wonderful. He went the extra mile. Bed was extremely comfortable, and the breakfast excellent. He was flexible, kind and made the stay a lot of fun. Small and intimate , got to know other guests over breakfast. Loved it xx

Reviewer:Ms. alex c | Wed 19th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

My husband and me stayed at the "Duncan House"for 3 nights and we enjoyed every minute. The room was well and beautiful furnished. we had a wonderful view to the river and the castle. The hosts were very friendly. And the breakfast.... delicious!

Response

We hope to see you again

Reviewer:Christiane A | Wed 19th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Appaulingresidence - Rating 1/5

What stay!!! We were unable to enter the residenxe and the numbers on the window belonged to an exemployee. After waiting .5 hours we had to book alternative accommodation.However this man still charged us full price as a no show please be careful of this business. The local hotel told us this is actually a common occurrance. Bookings.com will not assist as he sent us an email. IT WAS BLANK.

Response

Nice Spelling!1.You did not wait 5 hours, it was 20 minute from your call box call when my line was engaged to us speaking and my offering to let you in.2. I overheard you negotiating a cheaper last minute rate with the Cross Keys Hotel.3. You failed to contact booking.com to attempt to cancel your booking. This meant the the two rooms were allocated to you and I could not sell them. You were therefore charged. Booking,com are extremely strict about these issues, if you had any case at all I would have been required to refund you.4. I was contacted by booking.com. They confirmed that the email had been transmitted to you via their system. They could read it in their email history so any issues about an alleged blank email are between you and them. This system has worked infallibly to date.5. It is not a common occurrence to have entry problems with Duncan House as you allege..6. You were an Australian party travelling around the UK without any means of being contacted other than email.7. Finally, you were extremely rude on the telephone and I am rather pleased that you chose to stay elsewhere.

Reviewer:Colleen H | Mon 17th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


a true gem - Rating 5/5

All one could wish for:a beautiful old house with full use of a delightful living room complete with a great selection of reads, lovely people, amazing breakfast. A highlight of our trip.

Reviewer:Malte H | Sat 15th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely location - Rating 4/5

Would highly recommend this guesthouse. Beautiful views over the river, and comfortable rooms decorated in excellent taste. We were made very welcome, and the breakfasts were extremely good. Large shared dining table slightly quirky, but made for very interesting breakfast conversation. Would definitely go back.

Reviewer:Anne M | Thu 13th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent!!! - Rating 5/5

Wonderful house, very good breakfast, nice people.

Response

Good to see you back at the house for a holiday rather than just an overnight stay.We hope that you enjoy the paintings.Jeff & Kate

Reviewer:Frde W | Sat 8th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Second time staying - fabulous again - Rating 5/5

Really love Duncan House.Alot of charm, very relaxing, great hosts and stunning views across the Tweed.

Response

Good to see you back and very pleased that you caught your first two salmon. You looked like a dog with two d**ks the next morning.

Reviewer:Nigel V | Sun 2nd Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


review of stay at duncan house - Rating 4/5

wonderful location. staff very friendly and a suberb breakfast

Response

Everyone reviewing us seems food oriented

Reviewer:Ian B | Sat 1st Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Duncan house for me was amazing so clean and comfortable excellent staff. The breakfast was piping hot as it should be with as much tea or coffee as I needed. I will not hesitate to use Duncan house in the future.

Response

We look forward to seeing you again

Reviewer:Norman S | Mon 29th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Great B&B - Rating 5/5

Good room, fantastic breakfast made with very fresh local produce.

Response

Did you try the eggs royale?

Reviewer:Phillip M | Wed 24th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


stay - Rating 5/5

Only one comfortable night with two dogs, lovely walk beside the river friendly and relax greeting and a lovely breakfast would stay again.

Response

Happy dogs!

Reviewer:Julie H | Tue 23rd Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


very comfortable beds - Rating 5/5

Excellent B& B, I like everybody breakfasting at one large table, the breakfast was as good as I have had anywhere.The house is old and has some very nice antique furniture.

Response

Most encouraging for us. The team try very hard and deserve praise.Jeff & Kate

Reviewer:Bruce N | Thu 18th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Location, location, location - Rating 5/5

What a gem. Perfect location for many wonderful sites. Close to shops and restaurants without the traffic noise, comfortable, clean rooms. Friendly hosts. Ample tasty breakfast. Will definitely stay again.

Response

Thank you. Hopefully we can make it better for you next time.

Reviewer:Elva G | Thu 18th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


One night stay.- Rating 4/5

Great B& B that is quiet with friendly atmosphere. Teviot room was lovely with gorgeous views of the Tweed. Very central for Kelso town. Breakfast was fantastic too. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Reviewer:Anna D | Mon 15th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Comfortable stay - Rating 4/5

Despite not being able to access (due to the owner being unavailable),the key lock at the front door as i was not given the code i manage to contact the owner who supplied this promptly. The room was clean and cofortable with agood quality breakfast in the morning. Woken up by the cockerel next door but hey this is the borders. I would have no problem rebooking this fine old property in lovely picturesque Kelso.

Response

Please accept my apologies. I had dropped and broken my mobile phone and did not have a fallback in place to cover this eventuallity. I eventually recovered your messages after you had departed. Should you return please contact me in advance and remind me of this, I will of course make appropriate recompense for you inconvenience.Jeff Slater

Reviewer:Douglas W | Fri 12th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely place except for the noisy bed - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our stay at Duncan house. The windows rattled a lot (although it was blowing a gale outside!) and a very noisy bed. However breakfast was lovely, staff were great. Room was lovely great view of river and castle, and bathroom was really nice. All things considered an enjoyable stay at Duncan house.

Reviewer:Richard M | Wed 3rd Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


anniversary weekend - Rating 5/5

Top marks for this lovely house . staff were amazing, We were given key to come and go as we pleased, which was ideál. Room was lovely with Beautiful river views . Would not stay anywhere else if l visited Kelso again.

Reviewer:Marie M | Mon 1st Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Duncan House - A charming and welcoming retreat - Rating 5/5

My wife and I, along with our young son and dog, spent two nights at Duncan House in May.Our arrival, in the absence of the owner, Jeff, was co-ordinated perfectly with a key available and our room in perfect order.The accommodation has the feel of staying in a friend's house, a very hospitable friend at that.The room, "Tweed"afforded a marvellous view across the river to Floors Castle and had access to a beautiful riverside walk a matter of yards from the house.On the ground floor is a very comfortable and well furnished lounge, where I would have been happy to sit and read all day were it not for the requirements of my family to venture further. Opposite is the breakfast room, well appointed around a large antique dining table allowing the guests to chat and share stories of their visit. Most convivial indeed.The house benefits from it's own car park and for all it is a very short walk to the market place in Kelso, it's location allows a quiet and peaceful isolation from any disturbance.Overall we were very pleased and would certainly stay again without hesitation and as such I can offer my wholehearted recommendation of Duncan House to anyone looking for a base from which to explore this delightful area of Scotland and Northumbria.

Reviewer:Kevin E | Sun 31st May 2015 | 3 years ago


Flair der Vergangenheit - Rating 4/5

Wir schliefen in historischen Betten, frühstückten an einer historischen Tafel, liefen durch historische Räume/Flure und duschten im modernen Ambiente. Jeff war ein angenehmer Gastgeber

Reviewer:Heinz A | Thu 21st May 2015 | 3 years ago


weekend break - Rating 5/5

Along with a friend we stayed at Duncan House and found accomodation and food excellent Friendly atmosphere and near town square

Reviewer:Cathy S | Tue 12th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Great retreat - Rating 5/5

Four friends enjoyed a lovely couple of days at Duncan House. The house is beautiful with a downstairs lounge to relax in at any time. Walking distance from the town, good restaurants, and the river. We had a short drive to Floor scantly and Abbotsford, home of Sir Walter Scott.The breakfast was to die for, great choices and cooked to perfection. We hope to return.

Response

Thank you for staying - pleased that you enjoyed the porridge from Hogarths Mill in Kelso

Reviewer:John W | Tue 5th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Relaxing Stay - Rating 5/5

Thank you for a lovely relaxing stay with fabulous views overlooking the river. To be recommended.

Reviewer:Neil M | Sun 3rd May 2015 | 3 years ago


The fisherman - Rating 5/5

A lovely guest house with a definite slant towards those who have a passion for fishing. Has beautiful view of the tweed and Floors Castle. Quiet and peaceful with big comfy chairs and nice comfy beds.Breakfast is fantastic and the standards are high. Will book up for a weekend break myself now i've been there.

Response

We like the old armchairs better than modern sofas in the house

Reviewer:Mrs. Juliet G | Thu 30th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Duncan House Kelso - Rating 4/5

Fabulous room. Lovely view and a very welcome atmosphere. I would definitely recommend it and the dogs loved it.

Reviewer:Sarah M | Mon 27th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Ideal - Rating 5/5

A great find in Kelso. Stayed just the one night, but great position, enchanting view and lovely breakfast.

Response

Please stay a little longer next time - great for dogs. We now have 8 labradors since Susie produced 7 pups on 28/4

Reviewer:LIsa W | Tue 14th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Happy Break - Rating 5/5

Friendliness of owners and staff,comftable accommodation and a lovely breakfast. Easy reach of town and floors castle. Very accommodating for request to book in at an earlier check in time Thank you

Response

Thank you - come back anytime.

Reviewer:Heather M | Tue 7th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Comfortable, friendly & great location. - Rating 4/5

A beautiful old house overlooking the River Tweed and local countryside and a 5 minute walk to the centre of Kelso. The bedroom room was warm and comfortable with complimentary tea, coffee and water. Fresh milk available from the fridge in the hall along with more water if you want it. Sweets are plentiful and scattered around the house. The bathroom was clean & modern with a large bath and shower. Sat around a large sociable breakfast table we were given a choice of food from full breakfast to kippers, when it arrived was tasty and plentiful, served with toast and choice of tea or fresh coffee. We enjoyed our relaxing stay and would happily return.

Response

We do try to make Duncan House home from home, pleased you enjoyed it. Jeff & Kate

Reviewer:Guy L | Wed 1st Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


weekend stay - Rating 5/5

Spent a great weekend at Duncan House. The breakfast was excellent and the staff and owner really friendly. I will certainly go back again and would recommend itGordon Cooper

Response

Thank you. We rely on reviews and referrals. It is important to us that you enjoy your experience in Duncan House.

Reviewer:Gordon C | Tue 31st Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


short break - Rating 5/5

Once again thoroughly enjoyed staying at Duncan House, the best breakfast ever, thanks to Jeff, Eleanor and of course Susie, lovely to meet Kate, will definitely be staying again

Response

In that case we look forward to having you back again.Jeff & Kate

Reviewer:Lynda O | Wed 18th Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


An excellent few days in Kelso - Rating 5/5

A very friendly and comfortable atmosphere. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. A very relaxed and enjoyable couple of days.

Response

Thank you so much for staying with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the experience.

Reviewer:Edward B | Wed 11th Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


beautiful house - Rating 5/5

We were excepting somewhere special after researching the great Duncan House reviews before booking. These expectations were met and exceeded. A huge bedroom beautifully decorated and furnished, (warm as toast after a cold afternoon on the racecourse). A fantastic view from the bedroom windows of the River Tweed and surrounding countryside.Our friendly host Geoff provided us with a lovely Scottish breakfast in the georgian dining room. Will definitely be coming back.

Response

Great that you enjoyed yourselves despite the inclement weather.If you return for the races we can arrange Members Badges at discount rates.Thank you for being our first Qbook reviewer.Jeff

Reviewer:S | Mon 2nd Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Pet Friendly
  • Disabled
  • Self Catering
  • Conference
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Family Rooms
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Gay Friendly
  • Vegetarian
  • Romantic Breaks